Tags

, , , , ,

Okay, okay. So I must admit. I have an infatuation with Mexico – specifically Mexican food. Oh God, they just know how to mix the right kinda flavours. Just thinking about enchiladas and empanadas just gets me drooling.

Naturally, my favourite Mexican sweet treat would have to be churros. I cannot remember the first time I ever had a churro but I do remember having the first one in Mexico. We were in Coyoacan on the outskirts of Mexico City. We had just finished off at some ‘hippy’ markets, it was dark, and it was pouring rain – bucketing down. Heads down in our 20 cent ponchos we ran for the next available cover for shelter. That run was a run of delicious fate, where I came across one of my beloved street vendors. Instead of tacos, this time they were of course churros. I squealed with delight and promptly ordered one filled with raspberry sauce – reminiscent of a jam donut. I scoffed it down, hardly savouring any bite that I had and to this day I craved that churro. Although we have a Spanish chocolate cafe which sells churros about 30 minutes away from our place.. it really isn’t the same. Plus they’re hell expensive.

I came across this recipe not too long ago on this website http://www.cooking-mexican-recipes.com/ and I fell in love with the super cute lady in charge, Robin. Although mine are not very pretty since I didn’t have a wide enough star for the piping bag, they still turned out tasty enough. Not quite Mexico City but enough to halt any cravings and to bring back a wave of nostalgia.

Churros

Ingredients

1 cup water

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup butter

1 cup white flour

2 eggs

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 to 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, depending on taste

vegetable oil

Method 

1. In a sauce pan add the water, brown sugar, salt, and butter and heat to a good boil. Remove from the heat and add the flour. Stirring in the flour will take some muscle. Mix it in until well blended. 

2. In a separate bowl, mix the eggs and vanilla together and then add this mixture to the flour mixture. Stir until well blended and all the egg is completely mixed in. I used my hands a little bit here, just so the egg didn’t just sit on top of the dough. 

3. Fill the piping tool with the churro dough and attach the largest star tip you have.   

4. In a large, flat dish mix the 1/4 cup sugar and cinnamon and set aside. This is where you will be rolling the churros 

5. Put a decent amount of vegetable oil in a frying pan and set the stove to high.  

6. Test your oil by placing a small amount of dough in it. The dough should bubble up right away or that means the oil is not hot enough and a soggy churro is on the way.   

7. Once the oil is hot enough, squeeze some dough (with the piping tool) into the oil about 4 inches long. Use a knife to cut the dough from the piping tool. Careful not to burn yourself. 

8. You should be able to cook 4 or 5 churros at a time. Cook them about 1 minute and turn them over with a slotted spoon. Cook an additional minute or two. You’re looking for that nice golden brown colour. 

9. Remove the churros with the slotted spoon and place them on a paper towel-covered plate to absorb excess grease. 

10. While still warm, roll each churro into the dish with the sugar and cinnamon until coated. 

Serve with chocolate sauce, or perhaps some strawberry coulis! Serve while they’re still deliciously warm.

 

 

 

