Tags

, , , , ,

Stir fry is always a great, quick way to get your 3 serves of veggies in.. But I’ve never been a massive fan of it for some reason, so I’ve never made too many. I think that it has to do with the fact that many people tend to overcook vegetables, and for me, there is nothing worse. Anyway,  figuring that I’m back at work in a few weeks – with a busy teaching schedule, whilst studying my masters in TESOL and then trying to maintain a balance at home with family and friends – I decided I needed some quick, healthy ideas for meals.

I experimented a little with different sauces and this was definitely the winner. It calls for vegetarian oyster sauce – it’s made of mushrooms, and is (as the name suggests)100% meat free. I am lucky enough to live between two suburbs which each have an organic food store, and was able to find the sauce there!

Oyster Mushroom and Broccolini Stirfry

Ingredients

1 tablespoon of peanut oil

2 pieces of garlic, thinly sliced

grated, fresh ginger, about the size of half your thumb

a handful of snow-peas

1 carrot, thinly sliced

2 shallots, thinly sliced

350g of oyster mushrooms

1 bunch of brocollini, sliced diagonally

half a bunch of Chinese broccoli

2 cups of cooked rice

1/2 a cup of vegetarian oyster sauce

2 tablespoons of soy sauce

To serve

2 tablespoons of chopped coriander

1 red chili thinly sliced

1 lime, cut into quarters

Method

1. Heat up a wok over medium heat, and add the garlic and ginger. Stir constantly for about 1 minute.

2. Add the other vegetables, and cook them until they only slightly soft

3. Add the oyster sauce and soy sauce and mix thoroughly through the veggies, until it is heated through.

4. Serve immediately over warm rice and garnish with coriander, chili and lime. 

 

